The Travis boy’s basketball team held its own against its Fort Bend ISD brethren, finishing in third place in a tough District 20-6A.

The Tigers went 10-4 in district play and 25-11 overall, reaching the second round of the 6A playoffs. Meanwhile, first-place Elkins and second-place Bush both reached the regional semifinals.

Senior guard Javontae Hopkins was a scoring machine for the Tigers this past season, leading the team in points. He was named the district’s offensive player of the year.

Junior guard Justin Hill and senior forward Jimmy Ohaz both were named first-team all-district for Travis after both players stepped up after injuries threatened the team’s consistency. Hill became the second scoring option behind Hopkins with his strong three-point shooting and quick move to the basket.

Ohaz became strong rebounder and a fierce defender in the paint for the Tigers after senior Malachi Reincke was lost for the season.

After stepping up with timely shooting and tough defense, sophomore guard Cameron Oliver was a second-team selection for the Tigers.

After winning 31 games and going 13-1 in district play, it’s no surprise that Elkins cleaned up in the district awards. Senior guard and Texas commit Donovan Williams was 20-6A’s most valuable player, while head coach Albert Thomas was named the coach of the year. Also, senior guard Collin Warren was named defensive player of the year.

Elkins senior guard Tyler Callegari was a first-team selection, with senior guard Jamarcus Bell and sophomore guard Jacobi Harris as second-team picks.

Bush rallied and pulled out two big playoff wins before falling to George Ranch in the regional semis. The Broncos put three players on the first team in junior guards Danny McAdory and D.J. Stewart, along with junior forward Stephen Faramade. Junior guard Braelon Joe was a second-team selection.

Ridge Point freshman guard P.J. Haggerty was named the district’s newcomer of the year and junior guard Isaiah LeBlanc was named to the first team. Senior forward Derwin Brown and junior guard Elijah Thomas were second-team picks.

Rounding out the first team are Kempner senior guard Josh Ogunlade, Kempner junior guard Coby Farley and Clements senior guard Paddy Chen.

Austin guards Ethan Yancy and Stanley Okoye were named to the second team.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.