One of the pillars for the Terry football program is going the second mile. No team would argue that the Rangers didn’t put the extra effort during the 2019 season.

Unfortunately, Terry played in arguably the toughest district in Texas that included the Class 5A-DI state champion ,Shadow Creek.

The quality of the Rangers opponents was reflected with a 2-8 record and Terry’s quality reflected in the team’s selections to the District 10-5A DI all-district football team.

Terry earned three selections overall with senior offensive lineman Kolby Sumlin named to the all-district first-team offense.

Sumlin helped the Rangers finish with the sixth-best offense in the district, averaging 229 yards per game.

Junior wide receiver Kellen Stewart was named to the second-team offense.

Stewart had 22 receptions for 220 yards and one touchdown.

Senior defensive end Milton Swain was named to the second-team defense.

The Terry defense allowed 341.2 yards per game, forcing 12 turnovers including 10 fumble recoveries.

The Terry offense had three honorable mentions with senior quarterback Brandon Kyles, senior offensive lineman Tony Harris and sophomore running back Michael Odom.

Kyles completed 53 percent (71x134) of his passes for 748 yards and five touchdowns.

Kyles was the No. 7 rusher in the district with 561 yards and three touchdowns on 112 carries.

Odom had 411 rushing yards and two touchdowns on 81

Junior defensive back Brandon Lance, junior defensive back Trevin Holloway and senior linebacker Trey Reyes.

Football players senior defensive tackle/offensive tackle Christian Aguilar, senior wide receiver Rigoberto Argueta, Jr., Luis Garcia III, senior running back Christopher George II, senior kicker Scott Ives, junior safety/wide reviver Brandon Lance, senior linebacker Israel Martinez, junior offensive lineman Joshua Mata, senior defensive back/wide receiver Favour Maurice, senior defensive back Marco Navarro, sophomore running back Michael Odom, Jr., senior offensive lineman Nicholas Peterson, junior offensive lineman Eduardo Pineda, senior offensive lineman Carlos Pleitez, Jerry Vasquez and senior linebacker Joseph Wyant along with student athletic trainers Amber Squyres and Jazmen Washington. were named to the academic all-district team.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.