Three area players were named finalists and one Fort Bend County player was awarded at the Touchdown Club of Houston’s UIL High School Awards Dinner on Wednesday at the Bayou City Event Center.

Foster quarterback Ryan Stubblefield and Travis wide receiver Parker Washington were named finalists for the Offensive Player of the Year award, while Foster defensive end Chidozie Nwankwo was a finalist for the Defensive Player of the Year.

In 13 games, Stubblefield threw for 3,181 yards with a 60% completion percentage (190-for-314) and 36 touchdowns.

He also ran 101 times for 392 yards and six touchdowns. Stubblefield is uncommitted after decommitting from Kent State last month.

Washington caught 54 passes for the Tigers this season for 908 yards and 14 touchdowns.

He has verbally committed to play at Penn State.

Nwankwo had 31 total tackles this season, 11 of them solo.

He also four tackles for loss and one forced fumble.

Nwankwo verbally committed to Houston last month.

Fort Bend Marshall running back Devon Achane won the Offensive Player of the Year award, while Cypress Creek linebacker Josh White was named the Defensive Player of the Year by the club.

Shadow Creek head coach Brad Butler – whose Sharks eliminated Foster from the 5A Division I playoffs two weeks ago – was named the Coach of the Year.

Shadow Creek faces San Antonio Wagner in the state semifinals Saturday in San Antonio.

The other Defensive Player of the Year finalists are: Brandon Brown, Morton Ranch; Nick Brown, Westfield; Alec Bryant, Shadow Creek; Corey Flagg, North Shore; Jayden Goodwin, Cypress Falls; Derick Mourning, Katy Paetow; Jaylen Phillips, Katy; and D.J. Warnell, Dickinson.

The other Offensive Player of the Year finalists are: Josh Bankhead, College Park; Frank Brown Jr., Houston Sterling; Zach Evans, North Shore; Sofian Massoud, Cypress Lakes; Brice Matthews, Atascocita; Dwight McGlothern, Klein Oak; and Mike Welch, Dickinson.

The other Coach of the Year finalists are: Kevin Hall, Manvel; Gary Joseph, Katy; Greg McCaig, Cypress Creek; Adrian Mitchell, Klein Collins; Todd McVey, Tompkins; Matt Meekins, Westfield; John Snelson, Dickinson; Craig Stump, Atascocita; and James Williams, Fort Bend Marshall.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.