Student athlete

Foster senior Luke Capel was one of over 70 LCISD football team members selected to the Texas High School Coaches Association’s academic all-state team.

The Texas High School Coaches Association academic all-state team has a high standard to clear for student-athletes.

Lamar Consolidated ISD excelled at clearing that bar, with the district’s five teams earning over 70 selections to the academic all-state.

The THSCA honored athletes who excel in the following categories: GPA, class rank and ACT/SAT score.

The athletes are categorized based on their performance in each area in either elite, first-team, second-team, or honorable mention.

Foster led the way with 23 selections overall.

Seniors Blake Prentiss and Ethan Kanthackwere were named to the first team.

Foster had Kelley Becker, Lance Lemos, Luke Capel, Cole Tipton and Justice Ugochukwu on the second team.

The Falcons had 17 honorable mentions to the academic all-state team, including Mya Henry, Ryan Smith, Jayden Floyd, Udoka Ezeani, Christian Tomasino, Hayden Smith, Ben Osueke, Taribbean Ramirez, Mason Moore, Kennedi Turner, Parker Hearon, Ethan Newton, Reuben Fatheree Ethan Kappes, Philip Amy and Cody Jackson.

George Ranch was close behind with 22 selections.

The Longhorns had two members on the first team: Kelechi Anugweje and Wesley Nabo.

Brody Bean, John Schwake, Kyle Ford, Cedric Baker, Austin Stubbs and Joshua Taylor were on the second team.

George Ranch had 12 honorable mentions: Diego Vinton, Dave Babalola, Caleb Arredondo, Joshua Ross, Stephen Woods, Cade Quattlebaum, Christopher Lee, Gregoire Hookfin, Samuel Miller, Christian Foncha, Shane Appelbaum and Faris Tejani.

Terry was represented by 12 Rangers on the THSCA honor list.

Luis Garcia was on the first team.

Terry had nine members on the second team: Latrell Garcia Alvarez, Keon Kennedy, Joshua Martinez, Christian Prado, Joshua Mata, Ramon Torres, Freddy Zamarippa, Brandon Lance and Ignacio Avalos.

Seth Ortega and Daniel Coronado were honorable mentions to the academic all-state team.

Fulshear had 11 selections in total. Senior Chargers Braeden Matthew Loehr and John Ethan Jones were on the second team.

Fulshear’s honorable mentions included Oluwatobiloba “Tobi” Issac Tojuola, Andre Jeremiah Robinson, Dylan Patrick Hudson, Brett Thomas Ferro, Patrick Aaron Deleon, Jackson Nicholas Edge, Lane Jason Krenek, Lane Jason Krenek, Zachary Ryan Coady and Tosin Segun Ogunlana.

Lamar Consolidated also reached double-digit members with 10 total.

Senior Sean Bailey was a first-team member.

Jaydon Martinez, Ralph Perkins and Cameron Thompson were named to the second team.

Andrew Almendarez, Zachary Vaught, Michael Clark, Clayton McClain, Darrin Boston and Nicholas Barron were honorable mentions.

Outside of LCISD, Needville had 12 names on the academic all-state team.

Stephen Ashburn was a member of the first team.

Tannor Lee Baker, Stephen Ryan Ashburn, Trevor Mitchell Baker, Emma Nicole Altreche and Bryce Joseph Meuth were on the second team.

Mason Maus, Brandon D’Eris Glover, Jr, Jackson Lane Brantly, and Mitchell Austin Hackstedt were honorable mentions.

East Bernard had three selections, all honorable mentions. Brooklyn Boyle, Caroline Kunz and Bennan Peloquin earned recognition.

Brazos had two team-members, including Dillon Arteaga on the first team and Jared Demny on the second team.

Stafford had three members, Marcus O. Lane, Brayden Batiste and Kaleb J. Roberts, on the honorable mention list.

Fort Bend ISD collected nearly 30 selections, with Ridge Point leading the way with 11 members.

Seniors Cade Harper and Tristian Barrow were selected to the first team. Carter Veillon, Karsten Stow, Logan Wilson, Bryce Gray and Kolade Shofoluwe were on the second team.

Zach Yovan, Austin LaFavers, Nina Patel, Warner Johnson were honorable mentions.

Dulles had four team members earn honorable mention with Palmer Hodges, Jonah Kirkpatrick, Austin Sanchez and Jason Garcia.

Clements and Hightower each had three selections.

The Rangers had one on the first team: James Sattler. Joseph McGuire was on the second team and John Carlo Garza was an honorable mention.

Camryn Ardoin represented Hightower on the second team. Jaden Dexter Steele and Tarrell Kentray Carter Jr. were honorable mentions.

Austin and Marshall each had two members on the academic all-state team.

Angel Perez Sanchez was on the first team for Marshall and Kenny Seymour was a second-team selection.

Austin’s Chase Myers and Shahzada Durrani were honorable mentions.

Kempner and Travis each had one more member.

The Cougars’ Parker Milligan was a second-team selection.

The Tigers’ Isiah Grogan was an honorable mention.

To be nominated, the member of each team must be an athlete, student trainer, or manager in good standing with the team, of good moral character, a senior and have an overall grade point average of 92 or above (including courses from grades ninth through eleventh and courses completed from grade twelve). Weighted GPAs accepted.

The elite status requires a near-perfect score in each category.

Follow Fort Bend Herald sports editor Ryan Dunsmore on Twitter at @duns_more for game updates. Follow the Herald sports department on Twitter at @fbheraldsports, Facebook and Instagram at Fort Bend Herald Sports. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.