The East Bernard High School girls basketball team finished tied with Tidehaven for the final playoff spot out o District 24-3A at 5-7.

But the Brahmarettes won both games over the Lady Tigers by a combined score of 114-to-75.

The victories earned the Brahmarettes their seventh straight trip to the playoffs and the third straight under head coach Jeremy Sapp.

For their reward, East Bernard senior Cheslee Karasek and senior Deaundra Smith were named to the District 24-3A all-district team.

Karasek was named to the first team and Smith was named to the second team.

Sophomore Zoey Talas and senior Erin Dawson earned honorable mention to the all-district team.

Karasek, Smith, Talas, Beaird, junior Lexi Marik, junior Taylor Bottoms, senior Brooke Dirba, junior McKenna Novicke, junior Brooke Babin, sophomore Keatan Fortenberry, junior Dakota Domel, freshman manager Emilia Pyle and junior manager Sydney Sandoval were named to the academic all-district team.

East Bernard finished with a 9-17 overall and reached the bi-district round against Anderson-Shiro.

District 24-3A girls basketball all-district team


MVP: Angel Jackson, Boling. 

Offensive player of the year: Jimile Johnson, Hithcock. 

Defensive player of the year: Meagan Ramirez, Palacios. 

Newcomer of the year: Chloe Countee, Hithcock. 

Coach of the year: Jonathan Gibson, Boling. 

First team

Savannah Williams, Palacios; Avery Kubecka, Palacios; Calera Hernandez, Tidehaven; Taija Fields, Van Vleck; Billie Sulak, Boling; Lexi Nelson, Boling; Carsen Harris, Danbury; Cheslee Karasek, East Bernard. 

Second team 

Destiny Morales, Tidehaven; Desirae, Morales; Trinity Fields, Van Vleck; Logan Simpson, Boling; Michell Dube, Boling; Jenna Reouix, Danbury; Deaundra Smith, East Bernard; Brianna Birdow, Hithcock; Tracy Trinh, Palacios; Reagan Ramirez, Palacios. 

Honorable mentions 

Zoe Winkenwerder, Tidehaven; Madison Kacer, Tidehaven; Marie Galven, Tidehaven; Jasmine Hernandez, Van Vleck; Maria VanZandt, Van Vleck; Katelyn Brown, Van Vleck; Zulay Solis, Van Vleck; Aleena Acosta, Palacios; Jordan Peeples, Palacios; Kim Phan, Palcios; Olivia Filip, Palacios; Cyra Polk, Palacios; Zoey Talas, East Bernard; Erin Beaird, East Bernard; Kamryn Grace, Danbury; Jordan, Danbury; Estefani Cortes, Danbury; Taylor Henken, Danbury; Whitney Stahl, Danbury; Eryanna Copeland, Hitchcock; Kalora Spells, Hitchcock; Jayona Auzenne, Hitchcock; Alexia Rodriguez, Hitchcock; Demi Dickey, Hitchcock; Sanaa Scott, Hitchcock; Peighton Krushall, Boling; Tori Arrington, Boling. 

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.