At the Rosenberg City Council meeting Tuesday, council members may limit public speech at the meetings once and for all.

Council members will consider revising the city’s rules of procedures, specifically pertaining to audience comments. The amendments to city policy would limit each speaker addressing council to one time at the beginning of the meeting for up to three minutes on specific agenda items or for general comments.

Currently, audience members can speak during general comments and can sign up to speak on each agenda item. According to the proposed changes in procedure, citizens would only speak during general comments.

This has come to a surprise to council observers because a majority of council had agreed to keep public comments as-is at the last meeting.

Council members Richard Olson and Jacob Balderas were in favor of limiting the number of times citizens can speak to the beginning of the meeting. The rest of council did not agree.

“The people need to be heard,” council member Kevin Raines said at the last meeting. “We were elected by you to represent you and we have an obligation to listen to what you have to tell us.

“Do I think we should limit your time here? No. I think this is your time and you should have a right to be heard. I’m happy with the system we have now.”

Council members Lisa Wallingford, Steven DeGregorio and Isaac Davila agreed with Raines.

Council also agreed to allow citizens to sign up for other citizens wanting to address the council before the meeting begins. Currently, citizens can sign in with the city secretary prior to the meeting. Telephone or email request will be honored up to 2 hours before the posted time to begin the meeting begins. Sign in by proxy will also be allowed.

In other business, council members will consider accepting the resignation of Wayne Poldrack from the Rosenberg Planning Commission. According to city staff, Poldrack submitted his resignation from the planning commission on July 22. Council must also appoint a replacement to fill the remaining term for said position, which expires in 2021. Timothy Anders, James Urbish, Shayne Stone, Susan Euton and Ben Pawlak have applied for Poldrack’s position.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.