The Terry High School National Honor Society presented five scholarships to departing seniors. Receiving the $1,000 Leadership scholarship was Mariana Marmolejo. Receiving the $1,000 Academic Excellence scholarship was Antonio Duenas.

Receiving the $1,000 Character scholarship was Alejandra Gomez.

Receiving the $500 Service scholarship was Brissa Acevedo and receiving the $250 Most Involved Junior scholarship was Joselin Ortiz.

Proceeds from the spring Red Star Bazaar were enough that the NHS Class of 2019 established the Red Star Scholarship to benefit future Terry seniors.

The new officers for the 2019-20 year were also announced. Lillian Alameda is president, Maddison Ulrich is vice president, Kamryn Berry is secretary, Mallory Jones is treasurer, Analy Atehortua is historian, Kayla Alameda is parliamentarian and Paola Navarro is public relations, a new position in the organization.

Members also recognized a teacher who’s been instrumental in their learning.

Teachers received a certificate and recognition from the audience. Cake and punch were served. Katherine Langey is the NHS sponsor.

Principal at Terry is Dr. Andree Osagie.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.