Needville High School Theatre Arts Department students will present their award-winning performance of “Auschwitz Lullaby” on Thursday, April 26.

Dinner, catered by Pappasito’s Cantina, will be served from 5:30 p.m. to 6:45 p.m. in the school cafeteria. The meal includes on-site, mesquite-grilled beef and chicken fajitas, grilled onions, rice, beans, pico de gallo, guacamole, homemade flour tortillas and iced tea. A dessert auction will provide a variety of mouthwatering homemade goodies for dessert.

The play will be presented from 7 p.m. to 7:45 p.m. in the auditorium, followed by the annual end-of-year awards presentation.

Cost is only $20 for the dinner and show, and tickets are available from any one-act play member, by e-mailing Knezek at or by calling the high school front office at 979-793-4158 during regular school hours.

The students won numerous awards at area, district and bi-district competitions for their production of “Auschwitz Lullaby” by James C. Wall.

The one-act play is inspired by inmate diaries that recount actual events of the notorious World War II Auschwitz concentration camp.

It tells the story of Jewish pathologist Dr. Isaac Jonah who is interred, along with his wife and daughter, at Auschwitz in 1944, where he is assigned to work in the laboratory of the infamous Dr. Josef Mengle.

Jonah is asked to aid in the escape of a young girl named Lena, who miraculously survived the gassing that killed her entire family. Jonah must weigh the safety of his own family against the life of the innocent girl he has been asked to help, and he performs the most courageous act of his life in the process.

At area competition in New Braunfels, Zach Marullo won an All-Star Cast Award, Mason Todd won an Honorable Mention All-Star Cast Award, Paulina Orellana won an All-Star Crew Award, and Hunter Dworaczyk was named Best Corpse.

Of all the plays and cast members at the bi-district competition at Bay City High School, Marullo won the Best Actor Award, and the entire Needville crew won the Best Technical Crew of the Day Award. In addition, Todd won an All-Star Cast Award, Rossi Uresti won Honorable Mention All-Star Cast, and Leyla Motu won an All-Star Crew Award.

Marullo and Jack Basden each won All-Star Cast awards at district competition at Brookshire Royal High School, where Uresti also won an Honorable Mention All-Star Cast Award and Orellana won an All-Star Crew Award.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.