The Fort Bend County Fair Association is proud to announce its 2020 scholarship recipients. Over $200,000 in scholarships have been awarded to deserving Fort Bend County students, carrying on a Fair tradition of giving back through their scholarship program since 1979.

The Fair awarded $4,000 scholarships to 50 Fort Bend County students this year, in the midst of an unprecedented time due to COVID-19.

“These students have been working hard for years to achieve these scholarships, putting in time and dedication to making the grades and being involved. We are proud of the Class of 2020 and all of our scholarship recipients,” said Fort Bend County Fair President Sean Gutierrez.

This year’s recipients represent several school districts including, Fort Bend ISD, Lamar Consolidated ISD, Needville ISD, Brazos ISD, and Katy ISD.

Over 100 scholarship applications were submitted back in January.

“Being a recipient of this scholarship means the absolute world to me. I have been looking forward to college ever since my freshman year in high school, and this scholarship will greatly help me step closer to that dream,” Needville High school senior Abby Myska said.

“Growing up while showing livestock at the Fort Bend County Fair, will be something I will carry with me for the rest of my life. I have learned about responsibility and humility through this experience.

“I look forward to returning to the Fair to give back to the following generations just as so many people have given to me. I fully believe that if someone shows you kindness, it is your duty to pay it forward, which I will strive to do in my everyday life.”

Abby will be attending the Texas A&M University College of Engineering this fall and plans to major in general engineering.

Biology, nursing, animal science, art, and forest wildlife management are just a few of the fields of studies the 2020 scholarship recipients will be pursuing.

Texas A&M Architectural Engineering major Eutimio Garza is a second-year scholarship recipient.

“To me, this scholarship means so much more than just a simple economic benefit,” he said.

“It is not just a simple dollar sign. It is an opportunity. An opportunity to continue my education and thus to enable me to continue to grow as a person. Education allows one to open up more of the human mind to be better able to give more to the community.”

The scholarships are a result of money raised by the Fort Bend County Fair Association and its various committees’ fundraising efforts, and individual sponsors.

The Go Tejano Committee, Life Member Silent Auction, Art Auction Committee, Grapes on the Brazos Committee and sponsors such as The Charlie Seely Memorial, and Durwood Greene Construction have given back to the scholarship fund.

These scholarships represent a portion of the Fort Bend County Fair’s annual commitment to helping our youth reach their educational goals.

For more information on the Fair’s scholarship program or the 2020 Fair, visit or call the Fair Office at 281-342-6171.

2020 scholarship recipients are:

Second year

Jonathan Yuan, Sugar Land

Rylie Brown, Stephenville

Tristan Novosad, Needville

Cynthia Flores, Richmond

Jenna Le Blanc, East Bernard

Lauren Sulak, Richmond

Kane Wieghat, Needville

Elizabeth Anders, Rosenberg

Carson Yanta, Sugar Land

Eutimio Garza, Richmond

Grace Demny, Wallis

Morgan McVey, Sugar Land

First year

Rachel Poche, Sugar Land

Abbey Myska, Damon

Layton Meyer, Richmond

Kyla Wieghat, Needville

Bethany Bromonsky, Needville

Kyler Teykl, Needville

Allison Talbott, Sugar Land

Haley Knecht, Sugar Land

Macie Bean, Guy

Karleigh Schlict, Rosenberg

Jillian Voehl, Richmond

Daniela Arena, Sugar Land

Aaryanna Jones, Missouri City

Jordan Holub, Richmond

Sophia Terez, Sugar Land

Ryan Hartfiel, Sugar Land

Victoria Bernard, Sugar Land

Sydney Plemons, Sugar Land

Ethan Castaneda, Needville

Abigail Garza, Richmond

Emmanuel Ogu, Richmond

Victoria Nelson, Rosenberg

Deisy Garza, Needville

Naomi Boyer, Sugar Land

Makenzie Norden, Sugar Land

Mackenzie Flowe, Sugar Land

Kaylee McClanahan, Missouri City

Cassidy Tiemann, Beasley

Kassidi Davis, Missouri City

Zoë Holden, Sugar Land

Jenna Evans, Katy

Cambrie Reinhardt, Fulshear

Kimber Gerston, Rosharon

Megan Vacek, Rosenberg

Alyssa Fisher, Richmond

Clayton Padgett, Richmond

Kelton Poe, Needville

Bryce Vanek, Sugar Land

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.