Fort Bend County residents began early voting on Monday for a number of runoff elections in both the Republican and Democratic primaries.

The runoff election is also the debut of new voting machines rolled out by the county that is a touchscreen machine that prints out a paper ballot to use to tabulate votes.

Early voting sites in the area include the Fort Bend County Rosenberg Annex (4520 Reading Rd., Rosenberg), James Bowie Middle School (12300 University Blvd., Richmond), Irene Stern Community Center (6920 Fulshear-Katy Rd., Fulshear), the Fort Bend County Road and Bridge Office (3743 School St., Needville) and Beasley City Hall (319 3rd St., Beasley).

Hours for voting are from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. from now until Thursday, noon to 5 p.m. on Sunday, July 5, and from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. starting Monday, July 6 to Friday, July 10,

Election Day is on Tuesday, July 14.

Four races are on the Republican ballot, including a runoff race for the U.S. House District 22 race to replace the seat currently held by Rep. Pete Olson.

Fort Bend County Sheriff Troy Nehls and tech businesswoman Kathaleen Wall are on the ballot to become the GOP’s nominee for the House seat, with the winner facing Democratic nominee Sri Preston Kulkarni in November. Nehls got 40.5% of the March primary vote, with Wall receiving 19.4%.

Former county Republican Party chair Jacey Jetton will face public insurance adjuster Matt Morgan for the Texas State House District 26 race. The Democrats will also have a runoff election for this seat between software consultant Sarah DeMerchant and physician Dr. Suleman Lalani.

Also on the Republican ballot, J.J. Clemence and James Pressler will vie for the party’s nomination for county’s tax assessor-collector, while James Lombardino and Terry Adams will be running for the nomination to be the judge on the First Court of Appeals District, Place 5.

There are nine Democratic races in the runoff election, including four county races. The top of the ballot will be a runoff for the U.S. Senate race featuring Texas state Sen. Royce West and former Army pilot M.J. Hegar. The other state seat on the ballot is between Chrysta Castaneda and Roberto “Beto” Alonzo for the nomination for Railroad Commissioner.

In the county, Sonia Rash and Bridgette Smith-Lawson vie for the nomination for the county attorney position. Lynette Reddix and Jennifer Cantu face for the nomination for the Precinct 2 Commissioner, who will face incumbent Vincent Morales in November.

Retired Houston police officer Eric Fagan faces former Missouri City police officer Geneane Hughes for the nomination for Fort Bend County Sheriff. Also, Tonja Beard faces incumbent Daryl Smith for the county’s Constable Precinct 2 position.

Also on the Democratic ballot, Kali Morgan and Surendran Patel vie to get the nomination for the Judge of the 14th Court of Appeals District, Place 7.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.